See, Think, Do and Care. That’s how you approach Content & Marketing

Chandan Mishra
2 min readFeb 26, 2022
Photo by Eleni Afiontzi on Unsplash

When I open social media every day, what do I expect? I expect to see what the internet has for me. It also means I don’t know what I am looking for.

Vs.

When I open Google, what do I expect?
I have a very clear intent in my mind. I know what I am looking for.

Vs.

When I go to various websites. I have some weak intent of what I am looking for.

This is one of the key things to understand in marketing? It is the intent of the customer. This is how Avinash Kaushik puts it to make marketing extremely simple in his YouTube lesson.

See: No commercial intent
Think: There is weak commercial intent
Do: There is a strong commercial intent.
Care: There are two or more commercial transactions.

How do we interact with customers in such a scenario? We have to produce content for various intent types and where shall we use this content.

See: TV, Billboards, Display ads, YouTube, social media etc.
Think: Social media, Digital ads, Search, YouTube, email etc.
Do: Search, Display
Care: Social, Display, search, email etc.

It’s important to keep in mind the intent when we create content for the consumers. we can’t produce Do content for social media. People discover you there with weak or no intent and hence all effort will go waste.

When producing content, think Intent types of the customers. Never ever leave intent-based customers to the competition.

In case you have a very small budget, begin with strong intent customers immediately. All we need is an expert in online advertising who can help us with targeting with intent.

Complete video by Avinash Kaushik

--

--

Chandan Mishra

Author, Marketing Strategy Consultant, works with a B2B Startup, Follow me for strategies in marketing